Table of Contents  MOBOTIX Online Help

JPEG Settings

Open the JPEG Settings dialog to activate MxPEG, define the JPEG quality and set other options for the camera's JPEG images.

Notes

Description of Parameters

Parameter

Description

Video Codec

If you enable MxPEG, the camera creates a stream using the MOBOTIX video compression scheme. MxPEG allows for large-format live videos at extremely low network load (1% at 100 Mbps).

For viewing and storing the stream, you need MxManagementCenter or MxControlCenter. You can download the software directly from the MOBOTIX website in the Support > Software Downloads section.

JPEG Quality

Select the image quality of the JPEG image.

Values: 10..90 %

The factory default setting is 60% (High).

JPEG User Comment

Enter your own text which is stored as comment in the header of every JPEG file.

Notes

  • The comment will not be visible in the image itself. For entering visible text, open the Text and Display Settings dialog.

  • The comment is limited to 64 characters.

JPEG Comment Text (CT)

Text messages received via the serial interface or the IP Receive (RC) event can be integrated in the header of a JPEG image. You can reserve up to 64 characters for the comment.

EXIF Data

If this option has been activated, the camera adds an Exif comment to all generated JPEG images. Among other data, this comment contains exposure information and the timestamps when the images had been recorded. If the camera has access to GPS data, these will also be included in the Exif data as a so-called "geo tag".

Note

By default, the timestamps in the Exif comment are stored as UTC (world time). If you want to use the local camera time instead, add the line jpegcomment_exif_time=cameratime to the SECTION imageimprover of the camera configuration. To switch back to UTC, change this line in the camera configuration to jpegcomment_exif_time=utc.


Storing the Configuration

Click on the Set button to activate your settings and to save them until the next reboot of the camera.

Click on the Factory button to load the factory defaults for this dialog (this button may not be present in all dialogs).

Click on the Restore button to undo your most recent changes that have not been stored in the camera permanently.

Click on the Close button to close the dialog. While closing the dialog, the system checks the entire configuration for changes. If changes are detected, you will be asked if you would like to store the entire configuration permanently.


© 2001-2018 MOBOTIX, · http://www.mobotix.com/